2011 Women's CWPA Eastern Championship Seeding Announced; Michigan Earns No. 1 Seed

2011 Women's CWPA Eastern Championship Seeding Announced; Michigan Earns No. 1 Seed

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The University of Michigan earned the No. 1 seed for the 2011 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Women's Eastern Championship at Indiana University's Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center on April 29-May 1.

Selected by the CWPA Championship Seeding Committee, the seeds are based on the cumulative results of the season among the 11 Division I/II institutions in the league.

Three-time defending Eastern Champion Michigan, will strive to attain the program's sixth Eastern crown after taking the 2002, 2005, 2008, 2009 and 2010 titles.  The Wolverines have a chance to make history and become the first program since the 1988-1996 Slippery Rock University squads to claim four consecutive Eastern Championships.

The Western Division of the CWPA dominates the top seeds as runner-up Hartwick College and Indiana University earned the No. 2 and 3 seeds, respectively, behind Western Division champion Michigan.

Recent history favors a Western Division champion once again as Michigan, Hartwick (2004, 2006, 2007) and Indiana (2003) have combined for the past nine Eastern Championships dating back to a 2001 victory by Brown University.

At No. 4-5, Southern Division champion the University of Maryland and runner-up Princeton University round out the Top Five seeds.

Due to the championship expanding to 11 teams to include all of the league's membership, the top seeds have additional impact as Michigan, Hartwick, Indiana, Maryland and Princeton receive first round byes.

The bottom six berths in the field work out to avoid division match-ups as No. 8 seed George Washington Univeristy of the Southern Division will clash with No. 9 seed Mercyhurst College of the Western Division at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, April 29 to begin the tournament. 

Southern Division member Brown University claimed the No. 7 seed and will meet No. 10 seed Bucknell University of the Western Division at 10:20 a.m., before No. 6 seed Harvard University of the Southern Division clashes with No. 11 seed Gannon University of the Western Division at 11:40 a.m.

Maryland and Princeton will get begin play at 3:00 p.m. to start the second round, before Michigan takes on the victor of the George Washington-Mercyhurst game at 4:30 p.m. and Hartwick meets the winner of the Brown-Bucknell game at 6:00 p.m.

The first day of competition concludes with the host Hoosiers of Indiana squaring-off with the winner of the Harvard-Gannon game at 7:30 p.m.

Play resumes at noon on Saturday, April 30 with six more games to set the six placement games on Sunday, May 1.

Ticket prices for all spectators are $15 per day or $25 for the tournament (kids under 12 are free), while Indiana faculty, staff and students are $5 per day and $12 for the tournament.

If you can not make it to Bloomington for the East Coast's biggest water polo championship, do not worry.  The CWPA, in partnership with Stretch Internet, will be live streaming the entire tournament live on Friday-Sunday for the league's fans at a cost of $10 per game or $25 for a weekend pass that allows viewers to watch every game from the comfort of their home or office.  In addition, each game will be archived so that fans can catch up on the action if they miss a game.

To access the stream click on the Game Central link below or go to http://client.stretchinternet.com/client/cwpa.portal?mode=link#


2011 CWPA Women’s Eastern Championship Seedings:
1.  Michigan
2.  Hartwick
3.  Indiana
4.  Maryland
5.  Princeton
6.  Harvard
7.  Brown
8.  George Washington
9.  Mercyhurst
10. Bucknell
11. Gannon

Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana  
Hotel InformationDirections - Facility
Thursday, April 28, 2011
6:30 CWPA Eastern Championship Banquet/Hall of Fame  
Friday, April 29, 2011
    Game No.
9:00 8th Seed - George Washington
vs. 9th Seed - Mercyhurst
10:20 7th Seed - Brown
vs. 10th Seed - Bucknell
11:40 6th Seed - Harvard
vs. 11th Seed - Gannon
3:00 4th Seed - Maryland
vs. 5th Seed - Princeton
4:30 1st Seed - Michigan
vs. Winner Game 1
6:00 2nd Seed - Hartwick
vs. Winner Game 2
7:30 3rd Seed - Indiana
vs. Winner Game 3
Saturday, April 30, 2011
    Game No.
9:00 Eastern High School Clinic  
Noon Loser Game 2
vs. Loser Game 3
1:20 Loser Game 4
vs. Loser Game 5
2:40 Loser Game 7
vs. Loser Game 6
4:00 Winner Game 5
vs. Winner Game 4
5:20 Winner Game 6
vs. Winner Game 7
6:40 Loser Game 1
vs. Loser Game 3
Sunday, May 1, 2011
    Game No.
9:00 Loser Game 1
vs. Loser Game 2
10:30 Loser Game 10
vs. Loser Game 9
Seventh Place
Noon Winner Game 9
vs. Winner Game 10
Fifth Place
1:30 Loser Game 12
vs. Loser Game 11
Third Place
3:00 Winner Game 11
vs. Winner Game 12
First Place
Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed.

View: Mobile | Desktop